Sunday, August 24, 2008

DAP CEC Elections Results

With keen expectations of the outcome to the DAP triennial leadership elections to be held today, see write ups in The Star and The Malaysian Insider in the last 2 days, the results are finally out.

There are 2 new faces among the elected 20, and that's Gobind Singh and myself. I'm thankful for the confidence and trust given to me by the parties delegates and grassroots and I'll certainly do my best to help take the party to the next level (with all your support of course!)

The list of 20 elected central executive committee members are (number of votes in brackets):
  • Lim Kit Siang (624)
  • Lim Guan Eng (620)
  • Tan Kok Wai (571)
  • Foong Kui Lun (504)
  • M Kulasegaran (500)
  • Teresa Kok (495)
  • Dr Tan Seng Giaw (492)
  • Chong Chieng Jen (476)
  • Karpal Singh (471)
  • Ngeh Khoo Ham (455)
  • Anthony Loke Siew Fook (452)
  • Ahmad Ton (448)
  • Tony Pua (446)
  • Chong Eng (434)
  • Teng Chang Khim (417)
  • Nga Kor Ming (417)
  • Chow Kon Yeow (410)
  • P Ramasamy (340)
  • Dr Boo Cheng Hau (332)
  • Gobind Singh Deo (305)
The results while possibly didn't meet expectations fully in bringing in 1-2 more "new blood" into the top leadership, was nevertheless understandably a ringing endorsement of the leadership which too DAP to its best ever election performance on March 8th.

At the same time, while there were only 2 new faces, there are 5 members under the age of 40, with Anthony Loke being the youngest at 31. Hence this committee is a fairly good representation of youth and experience.

There will be up to 10 additional CEC members to be appointed where the factors in consideration will be the number of votes polled (whether ranked top 30), geographical representation (whether most states are evenly represented), as well as other traits such as gender, age group as well race. I believe this list will be decided on Sunday and will be announced together with the specific leadership positions.
Post a Comment